Tagged: ya book club Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • Grace Charles 2:00 pm on 2020/03/11 Permalink
    Tags: a good girl's guide to murder, , , holly jackson, , ya book club   

    A Small Town with a Big Secret… Our March YA Book Club Pick is A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder 

    Secrets, lies and good intentions form a lethal concoction that runs deep through A Good Girl’s Guide to Murderour March YA Book Club pick!  We’re thrilled to have this addictive debut by author Holly Jackson, and we aren’t the only ones questioning whodunnit from start to finish:

    “A fun, gripping, and skillfully constructed novel of suspense.” – Emily Arsenault, author of All the Pretty Things

    “Dark, dangerous and intricately plotted—my heart literally pounded.” – Laura Steven, author of The Exact Opposite of Okay

    A family’s shame, a town’s blame, and a night no one can seem to forget. Hidden deep in the whispers of this neighborly town, the story of what happened to Andie Bell depends on who you ask… A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder is a twisty crime thriller with wit that cuts through the caution tape. With a constant zigzag of he did it/she did it, Jackson has us chasing a trail of breadcrumbs until the very end.

    Close this case once and for all at our next YA Book Club Friday, March 13th at 7PM. Check your local store for details.

    The post A Small Town with a Big Secret… Our March YA Book Club Pick is <i>A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder</i> appeared first on Barnes & Noble Reads.

     
  • BN Editors 2:30 pm on 2020/02/12 Permalink
    Tags: , ya book club   

    The B&N Podcast: Holly Jackson on A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder 

    Our guest on this episode is Holly Jackson, who joins us to talk about her new YA crime thriller A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder.

    The book plays well for readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn’t add up, and a girl who’s determined to find the real killer—but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

    A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder has been chosen for our March Barnes & Noble YA Book Club event! Mark your calendars to join us for a discussion on Friday, March 13th at 7:00 PM!


    For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn’t add up, and a girl who’s determined to find the real killer—but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

    Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

    Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

    But she can’t shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

    Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent . . . and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn’t want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

    This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you’ll never expect.

    Like this podcast? Subscribe on iTunes or Stitcher to discover intriguing new conversations every week.

    The post The B&N Podcast: Holly Jackson on A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder appeared first on Barnes & Noble Reads.

     
  • Grace Charles 3:00 pm on 2020/02/05 Permalink
    Tags: abigail hing wen, , loveboat taipei, , ya book club   

    Our February YA Book Club Pick is Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen 

    At YA book club we discuss, question and imagine the worlds our favorite stories and characters take us to. And our February YA book club pick allows us to do just that. Abigail Hing Wen’s debut novel Loveboat, Taipei is a fresh and flirty take on first times and new beginnings. Featuring a summer of no parents and delicious food in a city far from home—Loveboat has a heartbeat you can feel from the start.

    The eldest daughter of immigrant parents, Ever Wong is an Asian-American teenager destined for med school. Shipped off to a supposedly educational pre-college program, Chien Tan proves no match for love triangles and teenage mischief. Battling between expectations and identity, Ever’s passion for dance takes center stage as an unforgettable summer unfolds.

    In an effort to balance parents, culture, and tradition, Ever constantly questions her dreams in relation to their repercussions. Hing Wen deftly explores the relationship—and conflicts—between Ever’s Eastern heritage and her Western upbringing. Loveboat celebrates the diversity of Asian voices and experiences. The narrative allows space for the characters to learn about their identities and to forge their own paths. 

    As her story progresses from cautionary to adventurous, Ever begins to catch a glimpse of herself in the light from which she once hid. Hing Wen reminds us that sometimes to see what’s right in front of us we have to cross oceans. Sure to give you butterflies, Loveboat encompasses a romantic journey that interweaves themes of relationships and finding your true self.

    Our Exclusive Edition of Loveboat, Taipei contains a letter from the author and three bonus deleted scenes. Our next YA Book Club night is Friday, February 7th at 7PM. Check your local B&N for details. We hope to see you there!

    The post Our February YA Book Club Pick is <i>Loveboat, Taipei</i> by Abigail Hing Wen appeared first on Barnes & Noble Reads.

     
  • Grace Charles 2:00 pm on 2020/01/08 Permalink
    Tags: reverie, ryan la sala, , ya book club   

    Our January YA Book Club Pick: Reverie by Ryan La Sala 

    Our YA book club brings readers together to discuss compelling stories and characters—and our January pick stands out for more reasons than one. Combining dreamscapes with real-life, Reverie by Ryan La Sala is both a suburban teen’s coming-of-age story and a fresh take on fantasy that leaves no voice unheard in a beautiful and blended world.

    Nothing is what it seems in Kane Montgomery’s life: his memories are a mess, he doesn’t know who to trust, and all the places he knows keep morphing into places he doesn’t. Reverie is more than a page-turning adventure story, it’s a novel that explores social constructs and stereotypes through unforgettable characters like Kane and mixed narrative genres. Featuring whimsical adventures grounded in authentic experiences, this story of personal discovery is a true testament to the process of understanding and accepting oneself. Tackling issues of queerness, identity, and relationships, Reverie offers a refreshing twist on queer voices—and through an unapologetic and honest narrative, Reverie delivers a powerful, relatable story that draws parallels to our society today.

    An empowering account of uncovering one’s identity, Reverie not only addresses what makes us different but celebrates it. Making space for queer voices in literature, La Sala has allowed for a unique protagonist to find out who he is, and more importantly, who he wants to be. With a constant pulse of wit and humor throughout, this fantasy novel speaks volumes to the power of trust, friendship, and individuality. Our Exclusive Edition of Reverie includes an annotated chapter with handwriting and drawings from the author in the margins, two pages of author notes, two pages of illustrations from the author, and a discussion guide.

    Our next YA Book Club night is January 10th at 7PM. Call your local B&N for details.

    The post Our January YA Book Club Pick: <i>Reverie</i> by Ryan La Sala appeared first on Barnes & Noble Reads.

     
c
Compose new post
j
Next post/Next comment
k
Previous post/Previous comment
r
Reply
e
Edit
o
Show/Hide comments
t
Go to top
l
Go to login
h
Show/Hide help
shift + esc
Cancel