Tagged: B&N podcast Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • BN Editors 8:00 pm on 2020/02/21 Permalink
    Tags: , B&N podcast, , the splendid and the vile   

    The B&N Podcast: Erik Larson on The Splendid and the Vile 

    Our guest today is Erik Larson, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Devil in the White City and Dead Wake joins us to discuss his newest work, The Splendid and The Vile, where he delivers a fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during The Blitz.

    The post The B&N Podcast: Erik Larson on <i>The Splendid and the Vile</i> appeared first on Barnes & Noble Reads.

     
  • BN Editors 2:30 pm on 2020/02/12 Permalink
    Tags: B&N podcast,   

    The B&N Podcast: Holly Jackson on A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder 

    Our guest on this episode is Holly Jackson, who joins us to talk about her new YA crime thriller A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder.

    The book plays well for readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn’t add up, and a girl who’s determined to find the real killer—but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

    A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder has been chosen for our March Barnes & Noble YA Book Club event! Mark your calendars to join us for a discussion on Friday, March 13th at 7:00 PM!


    For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn’t add up, and a girl who’s determined to find the real killer—but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

    Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

    Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

    But she can’t shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

    Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent . . . and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn’t want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

    This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you’ll never expect.

    Like this podcast? Subscribe on iTunes or Stitcher to discover intriguing new conversations every week.

    The post The B&N Podcast: Holly Jackson on A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder appeared first on Barnes & Noble Reads.

     
  • BN Editors 2:00 pm on 2020/01/21 Permalink
    Tags: american dirt, B&N podcast, jeanine cummins, ,   

    The B&N Podcast: Jeanine Cummins on American Dirt 

    Lydia Pérez is an ordinary bookseller in Acapulco, Mexico, when an article by her journalist husband makes her family a target for a drug cartel. In an instant, Lydia and her family become migrants, fleeing for their lives. Their story is the center of Jeanine Cummins’s American Dirt a powerful and often harrowing story of love, sacrifice, and hope. John Grisham, Stephen King, and Oprah Winfrey are all talking about this timely novel that features an unforgettable mother and son at its heart. Our booksellers can’t stop thinking about American Dirt either, which is why we’ve made it our February 2020 Barnes & Noble Book Club Pick. The author sat down with B&N’s Miwa Messer to take us behind the making of this propulsive story.


    ambién de este lado hay sueños. On this side, too, there are dreams.

    Lydia Quixano Pérez lives in the Mexican city of Acapulco. She runs a bookstore. She has a son, Luca, the love of her life, and a wonderful husband who is a journalist. And while there are cracks beginning to show in Acapulco because of the drug cartels, her life is, by and large, fairly comfortable.

    Even though she knows they’ll never sell, Lydia stocks some of her all-time favorite books in her store. And then one day a man enters the shop to browse and comes up to the register with a few books he would like to buy—two of them her favorites. Javier is erudite. He is charming. And, unbeknownst to Lydia, he is the jefe of the newest drug cartel that has gruesomely taken over the city. When Lydia’s husband’s tell-all profile of Javier is published, none of their lives will ever be the same.

    Forced to flee, Lydia and eight-year-old Luca soon find themselves miles and worlds away from their comfortable middle-class existence. Instantly transformed into migrants, Lydia and Luca ride la bestia—trains that make their way north toward the United States, which is the only place Javier’s reach doesn’t extend. As they join the countless people trying to reach el norte, Lydia soon sees that everyone is running from something. But what exactly are they running to?

    American Dirt will leave readers utterly changed. It is a literary achievement filled with poignancy, drama, and humanity on every page. It is one of the most important books for our times.

    Already being hailed as “a Grapes of Wrath for our times” and “a new American classic,” Jeanine Cummins’s American Dirt is a rare exploration into the inner hearts of people willing to sacrifice everything for a glimmer of hope.

     

    Like this podcast? Subscribe on iTunes or Stitcher to discover intriguing new conversations every week.

    The post The B&N Podcast: Jeanine Cummins on American Dirt appeared first on Barnes & Noble Reads.

     
  • Joel Cunningham 3:00 pm on 2018/02/12 Permalink
    Tags: , B&N podcast, ,   

    The B&N Podcast: Tayari Jones 

    Every author has a story beyond the one that they put down on paper. The Barnes & Noble Podcast goes between the lines with today’s most interesting writers, exploring what inspires them, what confounds them, and what they were thinking when they wrote the books we’re talking about.

    An American Marriage is Tayari Jones’s extraordinary fourth novel, a page-turning love story with a powerful political undercurrent. It’s as much a novel about family and race, expectation and desire, loneliness and loyalty as it is a story about how readily the American Dream can be derailed on the basis of skin color.  The writer of one of the season’s most keenly anticipated new books joins Miwa Messer in the studio to talk about writing a story that’s page-turning and thought-provoking in equal measure.

    The author of Silver Sparrow returns with a stunning novel about race, loyalty, and love that endures.

    Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are ripped apart by circumstances neither could have imagined. Roy is arrested and sentenced to twelve years for a crime Celestial knows he didn’t commit. Though fiercely independent, Celestial finds herself bereft and unmoored, taking comfort in Andre, her childhood friend, and best man at their wedding. As Roy’s time in prison passes, she is unable to hold on to the love that has been her center. After five years, Roy’s conviction is suddenly overturned, and he returns to Atlanta ready to resume their life together.

    This stirring love story is a profoundly insightful look into the hearts and minds of three people who are at once bound and separated by forces beyond their control. An American Marriage is a masterpiece of storytelling, an intimate look deep into the souls of people who must reckon with the past while moving forward–with hope and pain–into the future.

    See more books by Tayari Jones.

    Like this podcast? Subscribe on iTunes or Stitcher to discover intriguing new conversations every week.

    Author photo of Tayari Jones (c) Nina Subin

    The post The B&N Podcast: Tayari Jones appeared first on Barnes & Noble Reads.

     
c
Compose new post
j
Next post/Next comment
k
Previous post/Previous comment
r
Reply
e
Edit
o
Show/Hide comments
t
Go to top
l
Go to login
h
Show/Hide help
shift + esc
Cancel