Recent Updates Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • Kat Sarfas 4:00 am on 2020/06/01 Permalink
    Tags: ,   

    Our June Books of the Month are Here! 

    We have one question for you now that summer’s here and the days are longer: What are you reading next? There’s something about the hazy days of summer that has us ready to be swept away in the pages of a great new read, and we’ve got the perfect place for you to start. Our newest Books of the Month are here, and we have fantastic stories for readers of all ages. Set sail with an enigmatic sorceress; beat the devil at her own wicked game; fall in love with a real life grizzly and her cubs; battle monsters in a divided metropolis—and decipher legends of old in an eerie new middle grade mystery. Great books are calling, and you won’t want to miss them.

    Fiction Book of the Month

    Circe 
    Madeline Miller

    A classic story reimagined and not to be missed. An enigmatic sorceress discovers powers she never knew she possessed and unlocks a destiny she never thought she would have. This intoxicating epic will make you rethink everything you thought you knew about The Odyssey.

    “Part love story, part mythology come to life, but mostly a story of how to live life as an independent woman. It’s a story that will make you want to go back and read the classics with a new insight into a fascinating character. It’s a story you can read over and over and get something new each time.” – Molly T, Bookseller, B&N Home Office

    Mystery & Thriller Book of the Month

    Never Have I Ever
    Joshilyn Jackson

    Something wicked has landed in suburbia. Fans of Liane Moriarty’s and Lisa Jewell’s twisty novels will definitely appreciate this story of friends and enemies, secrets and lies. What if your worst enemy knew your darkest secret? How far would you go to protect yourself?

    “An edge of your seat thriller!  Just when you think you know a character’s motives, you’ll need to guess again. Surprises abound until the very last page and you’ll be shocked at every turn.” – Jennifer A, Bookseller, Richmond, VA

     

    Nonfiction Book of the Month

    Down from the Mountain: The Life and Death of a Grizzly Bear
    Bryce Andrews

    A modern story of man and nature, wild spaces and the changing American West written by a farmer/conservationist. Outside Magazine calls Bryce Andrews’s beautiful new book about the life and death of a grizzly bear an “ode to wildness and wilderness.”

    “A quietly dramatic, gorgeously written story that attempts to navigate an unfolding conflict between one grizzly named Mollie and a Montana corn farmer; one that raises important issues regarding the economy, culture, environment and the mutual benefit needed to ensure a responsible and compassionate co-existence of wild and domestic.  I loved it! – Sallye L, Bookseller, B&N Home Office

    YA Book of the Month

    This Savage Song
    Victoria Schwab

    Who are the heroes and who are the villains in this divided city? And which do you want to be? Victoria Schwab, bestselling author of A Darker Shade of Magic, once again creates an impossibly beautiful world filled with monsters, magic and dark secrets that readers won’t want to escape.

    “VE Schwab’s world building in This Savage Song is truly impeccable. She transports you into a fantasy realm you’ll never want to leave.” – Rizza P, Bookseller, B&N Home Office

     

    Young Reader Book of the Month

    Malamander
    Thomas Taylor

    A fun, wildly imaginative story about fearless, clever children in pursuit of a sea monster. Delightfully illustrated, this is the first installment in the new Legends of Eerie-on-Sea Series, where the mist is thick, and the legends are real.

    “An eerie (literally) seaside town, a legendary sea monster, a quest for missing parents—what more could you ask for? This spooky mystery made me want to travel to Eerie-on-Sea to join Herbie and Violet on their journey to uncover the truth about the town’s mythical Malamander. Oh, and did I mention there’s a top hat wearing mermonkey? Perfect for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events!” – Stephanie P, Bookseller, B&N Home Office

    The post Our June Books of the Month are Here! appeared first on Barnes & Noble Reads.

     
  • Drugs.com - Daily MedNews 9:00 am on 2020/05/31 Permalink  

    What to Know If You’re Headed to College With Asthma or Allergies 

    SUNDAY, May 31, 2020 -- If you're off to college in the fall and have allergies or asthma, it's not too soon to figure out how you'll manage them. "There are many arrangements to be made as you head off to college for the first time, and your...
     
  • Drugs.com - Daily MedNews 12:00 pm on 2020/05/30 Permalink  

    Coronavirus Was Already Spreading in U.S. in January: Study 

    SATURDAY, May 30, 2020 -- More evidence has surfaced that the COVID-19 coronavirus was circulating in the United States as much as a month prior to the first confirmed local case in February, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention...
     
  • Drugs.com - Daily MedNews 9:00 am on 2020/05/30 Permalink  

    Protect Yourself From Sun to Prevent Skin Cancer 

    SATURDAY, May 30, 2020 -- Headed to the beach or park for a little fresh air? Don't forget your sun protection, the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) advises. Skin cancer is the most common cancer in the United States, affecting one in five...
     
  • Drugs.com - Daily MedNews 4:00 pm on 2020/05/29 Permalink  

    Placenta’s Hidden Mysteries Revealed in MRI Study 

    FRIDAY, May 29, 2020 -- MRI imaging has uncovered key differences in blood flow to the placenta in pregnant women who are healthy and those with preeclampsia. That could help explain why babies born to mothers with preeclampsia -- dangerously high...
     
c
Compose new post
j
Next post/Next comment
k
Previous post/Previous comment
r
Reply
e
Edit
o
Show/Hide comments
t
Go to top
l
Go to login
h
Show/Hide help
shift + esc
Cancel